Red Dress Cocktail Party GRWM

It’s been a long time coming but I’m back with another Get Ready With Me and I’m pretty excited about today’s one. It’s not often that I get the chance to really dress up but when I do, I’ll take full advantage.

As the dress does most of the talking, I thought I’d keep the makeup relatively understated and natural but with a winged liner and a red lip.

For starters I’m taking the Garnier Hydra Bomb Day Cream to moisturise my face and act as a base for my makeup. I’m then taking the By Terry correcter concealer in the shade ”6 Sienna Copper”. I’m just taking a tiny bit of this in the very corner of my under eye, right where it’s darkest. This is because the orange tone of the correcter counters the purple and green and helps to cancel out my dark circles.

DSC_0882DSC_0884

I’m blending this out with a damp beauty blender then going back in with the Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer under my eyes and over any blemishes. Although I do get redness over and around my nose, what I tend to do is just blend what’s under my eyes over the top and around my nose, instead of putting more concealer on separately.

DSC_0887

Next, I’m powdering with my trusty Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder in the shade 05 – particularly across my t-zone. Then bronzing with the Bourjois Bronzing Powder and the Real Techniques MultiTech Large Makeup Brush. I’m going in with this across the top of my forehead, underneath/ over my cheekbones and a little down my neck.

I’ll finish off the rest of my base later but for now I’m moving onto brows and I’m taking the shade ‘Espresso’ on a MAC 266 brush, then combing through with a spoolie.

DSC_0910

Onto eyes, I’m taking Maybelline’s ‘On and On Bronze’ across the lid and blending it out with my finger. I’m only putting on a tiny bit of this as I want to keep everything quite simple and not too dramatic. That being said, I am doing winged liner and to do this I’m using the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner on a small angled brush from Space NK.

DSC_0918

DSC_0927DSC_0941

Once I’m happy with my liner, I’m using yet another Maybelline product – the Lash Sensational mascara and I’m putting this on my top and bottom lashes.

Now the liner’s done, we can go back to the face and I’m taking MAC’s Creme Blush in the shade ‘Something Special’. I’m using my fingers to blend this onto the apples of my cheeks and then taking MAC’s Creme Colour Base in the shade ‘Hush’ across the tops of my cheekbones, the end of my nose and a little over my cupids bow.

DSC_0995

Before finishing off with lipliner, I always put on a little bit of Vaseline or some sort of lip balm to make sure the product goes on smoothly but I’m then taking MAC’s lipliner in the shade ‘Redd’. I’m using this not only to line my lips but to fill them in completely. I do love a lipstick but when you’re on a night out or you know you’re going to be eating and drinking etc, I don’t really want to be re-applying my lip colour all night so I think lipliners can be a great alternative.

DSC_0985

The dress I’m wearing is from Topshop for £39 and the shoes are from Primark a couple of summers ago but were about £7 and are still serving me well! So, if you’re in the market for a new pair of heels, Primark could be a place to look!

Lots of love x

2 thoughts on “Red Dress Cocktail Party GRWM

Leave a Reply

